Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Cover

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In
Free download of cover, contents, introduction and chapter 1 (960kb)

One Forever: the transforming power of being in Christ

Bookmark and Share
10 Review(s) / Tip(s)
$9.95

Availability: In Stock.

  • Buy 5 for $7.95 each and save 21%
Add Items to Cart
OR

« Back to Main Product Info

Customer Reviews / Tips

10 Item(s) Show per page
  1. Great book, instills great confidence of our secure position in Christ, by grace! Review / Tip by Ros Barrett

    http://sevennotesofgrace.com/2014/01/23/book-review-one-forever/

    Book Review: ‘One Forever’

    ‘One Forever‘ by Rory Shiner (Matthias Media 2012) One forever2

    When you think of yourself being “in Christ” what do you think of? How would you explain this gospel truth? It is much easier to understand Christianity in terms of believing in Christ, or following Christ or knowing Christ. Yet this “in Christ” terminology is favoured by the New Testament writers, Paul especially. It is also packed with the wondrous grace of God shown in the gift of His Son.
    If you want to understand better what it means to be IN Christ then this book is for you.
    Published in 2012 and written by Australian pastor Rory Shiner “One Forever: The Transforming Power of Being in Christ“ explores so many facets of what this phrase means, in just seven chapters. His writing is conversational and friendly, accessible to most adults and probably many youth. His illustrations are easy to understand, yet the concepts are deep and his pastoral heart is clear. Rory wants us to have the confidence and certainty of being IN Christ, even if our faith is small.
    Here are some of the main ideas he explores:

    1. To be a Christian is to be in Christ.
    “To be a Christian is to put on the Lord Jesus Christ. It is to believe into him. It is to clothe yourself with him.” p40

    2. The size of your faith does not matter. The power of the one you have faith in does.

    3. Justification is not up to us or our efforts.
    Justification is objective. “Justification was not achieved in my heart but on a cross outside Jerusalem”.
    “Justification is one of the great joy factories of the Christian life”. P46

    4. We are united with Christ in his death and his righteousness and his resurrection.
    If we only think of ourselves as following Christ or knowing Christ or being near Christ then we don’t capture what union captures. p58. “Union with Christ is our defence against the playground bullies of sins and temptation.” p56

    5. We are right before God because we are in Christ and HE is right before God.
    “To stand in Christ is to stand in a place where the wrath of God will never be felt because wrath of God has already been there.” p36

    6. Christians aren’t just ‘not perfect but forgiven’, they ‘forgiven and they are united to christ . . . indwelt by the Spirit of God, and they are empowered by God to live a new life. p 62

    7. Christ identifies so closely with the Church, His church is His body, He is the Church. When his church is persecuted Christ is persecuted p.70, 68, “Church is the most concrete expression of your union with Christ.” p.73.
    “The distinction we make between how we treat Christ and how we treat his gathered people is not a distinction that Jesus makes” (p74).

    8. In the case of the weakest and most broken members of our churches, their very brokenness is their gift to the church. They gift to the church their brokenness, and as we are drawn out of ourselves to serve them, we learn how to be the body of Christ. p.72

    Now if that has not whet your appetite to better understand the treasure of what it means to be “in Christ”, check out the video below which is designed to explain a little more. I hope it will be a blessing to you!

    You may also like:

    http://sevennotesofgrace.com/2013/03/04/holding-on-to-what-we-already-have-in-christ-philippians-316/

    (Posted on 23/01/2014)

  2. One Forever Review / Tip by Nada Appleby, Contributor for www.thesoulofmyfeet.com

    Would you say you are "saved"? Or perhaps you have made the "decision" to accept Jesus? Or perhaps you are following Christ? Or perhaps you're a believer? Maybe simply a Christian? The language we use for describing our Christian faith tends to differ between the various church's we belong to...

    Yet Rory Shiner, in his guidebook "One Forever: The Transforming Power of Being in Christ" says

    "There is a phrase for our relationship with Christ that is everywhere in Paul's letters and almost nowhere in our churches"

    He says "When the Bible wants to describe being a Christian, it says that we are in Christ"

    Shiner moves us through this concept of being united in Christ, from creation to the new creation. He takes us on a journey to understand why it is imperative for us to be re-united.

    Shiner takes us back to the very beginning in Chapter 1, Creation. We were made for relationship to our creator, union with Him. He says beautifully, through our union with Christ

    "We discover that Christ is not us, nor is he a 'second us', but rather he is the completion of us. When we meet Christ by faith, it is not just a union. It is a reunion"

    Shiner introduces us to Jesus, God incarnate, who in so many ways was like us 'he ate and drank. He slept and talked. He had friendships and experienced grief and sorrow'. He was even tempted to sin, yet he didn't, not once. God himself enters into humanity and as Shiner says 'he enters into all that we are and is united to all that we are, so that all that we are can be healed. And redeemed'

    Shiner reinforces here, that God's presence in the flesh should tell us 'that we are on the wrong track and we need redemption'. Obviously his good creation has gone horribly wrong for him to need to step down into it. To be re-united with it.

    Shiners uses fantastic imagery throughout this easy to read guidebook (goes perfect with a Gloria Jeans coffee!), including the analogy of our relationship "in Christ" likened to that of being at an airport waiting to board a plane. The question is, how do you have a relationship with that plane so that you end up where that plane is heading? Will you get there if you watch the plane and are inspired to one day travel? Will you get there if you try and follow it by running really fast, probably not? No, the best way to get to the same destination that plane is heading, is "in it.."

    Though this guidebook is intended to help 'ordinary' Christians, it is still tricky in parts, but would be a great resource for small groups to work through and think about together, particularly as a tool to help new Christians understand the Biblical language for their new found faith....
    (Posted on 8/11/2013)

  3. Great Resource Review / Tip by Joey Parker

    In One Forever, Rory Shiner seeks to help the reader understand what union with Christ actually means. Christians often talk of being 'In Christ' but often this is not an area of the Christian life that gets a lot of focus. It is much easier to focus on the imperatives in Scripture and to gloss over the truths about who we really are. The truth is that the Christian life is much more about who we are than what we do. The answer is that we are God's children because we are IN CHRIST. This book is a part of the Guidebooks for Life series and at 88 pages is readable for all Christians.

    One core area that Shiner explores is our justification. We are declared righteous and God's wrath is no longer on us because, "to stand in Christ is to stand in a place where the wrath of God will never be felt, because it has already been there." This is a glorious truth that Shiner helps the reader to see. All of God's wrath for me was taken by Christ!
    Shiner continues to help the reader see the importance being in Christ is. "Adam's achievement was, in a sense, an accident; Christ's achievement is deliberate. Adam grasped at life, and gave us all death; Christ did not grasp at life, but became obedient to death and gave us all life. Adam acted in disobedience; Christ acted in complete, perfect obedience." We gain life by being in Christ.

    Shiner shows that the heart of the matter of being in Christ is not how much faith you have, but where your faith is. "One of the crucial truths that union with Christ captures is that all of me is connected to all of Christ." In drawing from John Owen's The Mortification of Sin, Shiner shows the reader how without knowing the love of God and the privileges that we have in Christ we cannot keep from falling into temptation and sin. The greatest combatant against daily sin is to dwell on the truths of the privileges that I have from being in Christ

    In his chapter on unity in the body of Christ, Shiner helps the reader to see that the fellowship and oneness that we feel with Christ's body shows how much we understand what being in Christ truly is. It is not possible to separate being in Christ with being a part of his body. This is a truth that so many Christians in our day fail to grasp. This book is a tremendous blessing and help to all Christians, no matter how well read they are or how 'deep' their theology goes. This book is for everyone! I highly recommend it.

    I received a free copy from Matthias Media in exchange for an honest review.
    (Posted on 7/10/2013)

  4. An easy to follow explanation of a big idea Review / Tip by Joanna

    There isn’t that many talks I would say changed my life but Rory Shiner’s talks on union with Christ at an Australian Fellowship of Evangelical Students conference a few years ago did. It wasn’t a big, blinding moment of epiphany, but the introduction of a set of ideas that began to seep into how I thought about living as a Christian, changing me for the better. So I was rather excited when I heard that Rory was elaborating on these ideas in a book.

    The idea of union with Christ or being “in Christ” does at first glance sound a bit obscure. Other than Rory’s talks, I don’t think I’ve heard it preached about much. But, as Rory points out in the book, it’s an idea the New Testament commonly uses to describe what it means to be a Christian. The big idea is that by being united to Christ in his death and resurrection, the victory over sin and death and the new life that he achieved is ours too. If that sounds a bit hard to get your head around, don’t worry because in the book Rory explains it strikingly well.

    I think there is a couple of audiences this book can be particularly helpful. One is Christian who have fallen into feeling like Christianity is about what they do. There is quite a few books coming out these days that address such tendencies, but I think this angle is quite a helpful one. The book also has some evangelistic potential. While some of the concepts might require a bit more knowledge that some seekers would have, there are some really fantastic illustrations and metaphors that could be very useful when explaining the gospel.

    It is only a short book (less than 90 pages), but there is so much good stuff in it. No matter how much or little theology you think you know, my recommendation is that you read it, followed by reading it again a few more times.
    (Posted on 10/09/2013)

  5. Highly recommended Review / Tip by Tony Wright

    If you’re a Christian – how do you describe yourself? As a Christian. Or maybe a believer, as being saved, of having turned to Christ, of being forgiven, washed clean, a follower of Jesus, as having made a decision for Christ, a saint? The terms we use can say a lot about ourselves and our relationship to Jesus. If you’re like me you’ve never used, nor heard someone use, the term united to Christ (this term refers to what theologians call union with Christ). This could be seen as surprising for the term and others like it (such as in Christ, in Jesus, or in him) occur far more often than just about any other in the New Testament’s description of those who know Jesus as their Lord and Saviour. But it’s not all that surprising because even though its everywhere in the New Testament we tend to miss seeing it there and, if you’re anything like me, even when someone points it out to you you’re not sure what it all means. This was my experience at theological college, and when I was asked at my exiting interview what issue(s) required my continued investigation – I answered “union with Christ” – because I just didn’t know what to do with it. That was six years ago, and earlier this year (in an effort to keep my word) I started a new and weighty book that just came out on the subject. Months later I have still not finished. I have given up. Lost in wilderness of union with Christ.
    One Forever – is not that book!
    One Forever is the book I wish that had been written before I even got to college – which I could have read and understood quickly and easily (but hey, better late than never). Rory Shiner’s pithy work One Forever artfully engages the reader by showing the meaning and significance of this overlooked idea of union with Christ. Being united to Christ is the status of every Christian, whether we know it or not, but Shiner shows how knowing what union with Christ is all on about – helps us to rightly understand Jesus, ourselves, our relationship to him, how we are to now live, and our future hope. The many illustrations in the book help us to both engage with and understand the material and have all the hallmarks of a gifted preacher (in the footnotes to the introduction Shiner acknowledges that this work first begun its life as a series of talks for a student ministry convention in Australia). And all of this in only 88 pages!
    This short book will prove rewarding to any who read it – and indeed anyone and everyone should read it.
    One Forever has even inspired me to get back into that big book on union with Christ – and that is saying something!

    (Posted on 6/09/2013)

  6. Like the NTE talks which it flowed from, One Forever is super helpful, easy to read and it oozes gospel. Get on it! Review / Tip by Alex M

    “In Christ” was the topic of National Training Event (NTE) the year before last. That meant thousands of university students coming together to learn to read and teach the bible, and to do Christian life and ministry in the contexts we move in. As well as the national director of AFES, there is always some beast of a guest speaker who comes to unravel God’s word for us. That year it was Rory Shiner, and God used him well, to break down what can seem like a confusing and abstract concept.
    So I was stoked when I heard that he was writing a book on the topic. Here’s the thing: One Forever is essentially those same NTE talks, put on paper, warts and all [note: that’s a nasty way of saying that even the jokes are the same]. If you’re a fan of his preaching, you’ll more than likely enjoy the book. If you were at NTE but lost your notes, this book is your solution.
    One Forever is short. It can’t cover a huge amount of ground, or do a lot of detailed exegesis. It can’t really weigh in on the academic side of things. If you are after a complex academic study and analysis of historical theology on this issue, keep searching. There are a few really big, profound and nuanced doctrines tied in here – take, as an example, the federal theology of Romans 5 (i.e. Adam and Christ). Shiner uses simple, effective analogy to explain this passage – an essential one that underlies much of being “In Christ”. While both this section and the whole book are very effective in explaining the concept in real terms, the complexities and knock-on topics weren’t explored in depth. That said, there is still plenty of bible, and a generous spread of ideas from philosophy and theology through the ages.
    In reality, though the geeks may want to dive deeper, the streamlining is a definite selling point. As is clear from the introduction, One Forever is concerned with expounding an – even the – essential aspect of Christianity in a straightforward, concrete manner. The aim was to show how being in Christ is not abstract and difficult but real, beautiful and overtly practical. One Forever admirably achieves this goal.
    Clarity is one of the great calling cards of One Forever. Short enough to read in one or two sittings, the book is still broken up with plenty of headings and subheadings which are helpful in tracing the flow of thought and allowing you to read snippets one at a time, without getting lost. This means you don’t have to be a reader or a nerd to dig into this book. Furthermore, you won’t find wordy jargon or cheesy clichés.
    So what about what he actually says? The groundwork is laid in terms of unity; unity in creation, incarnation and salvation. Touching on the significance of the sacraments, Shiner launches into the significance of union with Christ for salvation. With a survey of relevant scripture, Shiner offers a simple but incredibly helpful way of thinking about faith and salvation; “…Christ is the site of God’s new creation.” [p. 39]. As he did at NTE, Shiner introduces an incredibly helpful analogy, which he uses at several points along the way: that of an aeroplane. The secret to reaching the destination is to be in the plane. The way this analogy is used to explain Romans 5 is, in itself more than enough reason to get hold of this book.
    This book is both informative and just super helpful to the Christian, whatever stage they are at. It reminds of the objective nature of justification, and it powerfully asserts that being in Christ is something ontological – a powerful stroke against either legalism or legalism. A proper understanding of what it means to be “In Christ” frees us from fear of weakness, and from works righteousness. This is, in my mind, the greatest strength of the book: it oozes the gospel!
    This means that One Forever is not just for Christians, but is a resource for outreach. It’s very approachable and offers a good explanation of how Christianity is not based on morality or church attendance. The gospel story is present before union is even introduced, and at every stage the gospel of grace is faithfully represented. This is not where it ends, though. Shiner doesn’t leave it in the theoretical. How this union with Christ impacts our everyday experience - makes the church important, informs the sacraments, and affects every aspect of life – is also clear.
    One Forever is an easy read, and brings the concept of union with Christ out of the abstract and into the real world. It is saturated with the gospel, and can offer a lot to seekers and new Christians, as well as offering foils for the traps of legalism, individualism, and fear of weakness. It also shows how this plays out concretely in the church and life.



    (Posted on 18/07/2013)

  7. Terrific summary of a crucial doctrine! Review / Tip by Jeremy Cooley

    As a preacher and a teacher, I am always trying to think of ways to take complex subjects and present them so that anyone can comprehend. It is not the easiest task and I am not always successful, as some of my students would tell you! That is why I am so thankful for books like this one, One Forever: the transforming power of being In Christ by Rory Shiner. In a brisk eighty-eight pages, Shiner manages to tackle the doctrine of union with Christ in a way that is compelling, concise, and chock-full of the gospel.
    The book is broken down into seven chapters. They are as follows:
    1. Glory be to God for dappled things: creation
    2. Into the far country: incarnation
    3. In Christ you are a new creation: salvation
    4. Before the throne of God above: justification
    5. In which we face some playground bullies: union and sin
    6. United to the body of Christ: church
    7. Union with Christ, resurrection and the end of the world
    From the titles alone, the emphasis on redemptive history should be obvious. And that is one of the strengths of Shiner’s treatment of union with Christ – that he anchors the doctrine in an overall theology of Scripture, beginning with creation and culminating in recreation, demonstrating along the way the centrality of the gospel for understanding the Bible. In fact, even though it is not the intended purpose of the book, I believe Shiner has given a terrific skeleton for a whole biblical theology on union with Christ.
    What makes all of this work so well is Shiner’s writing. He is lucid, to-the-point, and witty. One example, in discussing the effects of the fall: “Adam’s decision to eat the fruit has affected about 7 billion people alive today. It has had impressive reach.” (pg. 38) Chapters four and six are particularly strong, with an emphasis on justification by faith alone and how union with Christ plays out in the life of the church. Another terrific example of the understated, yet powerful writing is in chapter four:
    “Union with Christ is not just one of the things we get, along with adoption, forgiveness and hope. Union with Christ is also the means by which we get the whole package. All the blessing of Christ are ours because we are in Christ.” (pg.44)
    One Forever: the transforming power of being In Christ is part of a series published by Matthias Media called Guidebooks for Life. If the rest of the series is similar to this one, they have done the church a huge service. One Forever: the transforming power of being In Christ is one of those books that just about every Christian should read. It not only deftly explains the doctrine of union with Christ, it consistently places the focus on the finished works of Christ. In this respect, Shiner has not only achieved his stated purpose – to present the doctrine of Christ to ordinary believers – he has written a treatise on the gospel that is short enough and powerful enough to be a blessing to all believers, regardless of their maturity level. And what more can we ask of a book than that it make more of Christ? Buy this book today. And buy it in bulk to share. It deserves widespread distribution.

    End note: In recent years, there have been a number of excellent books published on the doctrine of union with Christ. If, after reading One Forever: the transforming power of being In Christ you desire to explore the topic farther, begin with Todd Billings book, Union with Christ. If you would like a very technical, but very comprehensive treatment of the subject, check out Paul and Union with Christ by Constantine Campbell.

    (Posted on 5/06/2013)

  8. http://www.thelas.info/2013/05/one-forever/ Review / Tip by The LAS

    One Forever: The transforming power of being in Christ by Rory Shiner is a refreshingly clear primer on the biblical concept of Union with Christ that all Christians, young and old, can appreciate and read. How do you describe what it means to be a Christian? Perhaps you say you’ve ‘been saved’, or that you are a ‘follower of Christ’. While both of these are not incorrect, their usage in the Bible is scarce and rare, especially when compared to the primary description that Christians are given by the Apostles of being ‘in Christ’. It’s an unusual term isn’t it? It’s not foreign but it isn’t the first thing we might think of when we consider what it means to be a Christian. But if you took a cursory read through the New Testament you wouldn’t be able to miss it.

    In Western Society the most prominent doctrine that underlies the majority of evangelical preaching is the doctrine of justification by faith alone (that is to say, that the way in which we sinful humans can hope to stand before a just and holy God is by Him declaring us righteous in His sight). This truth of being saved by placing our faith in Jesus Christ is rightly of crucial importance, being the article upon which the church stands or falls. However, the teaching of the New Testament shows that it is actually our union with Christ that facilitates our justification in the first place. In fact, as Rory very helpfully shows in his book, union with Christ is what underlies our justification, our growth in obedience and ability to overcome sin, the existence of the church and also the future hope of recreation and resurrection.

    Starting from Creation and going through to the hope of Christ’s Second Coming, Rory never neglects faithful biblical theology in favour of explaining abstract doctrines. And it’s short! At 88 pages I was astounded at how much was covered in such a short span of time. This book is a great introduction to the Bible’s teaching on union with Christ and gives Christians enough of a skeleton of the scope of its role in God’s sovereign plan to give them all the hooks upon which further study and learning can readily occur. And it is written with clarity and easily understood illustrations that also shows the practical relevance of this amazing truth to our daily lives. (Posted on 30/05/2013)

  9. Insightful, practical, essential Review / Tip by Paula

    In the New Testament, Paul describes believers with two simple words - in Christ. What exactly does it mean to be in Christ? It sounds like a sphere, a location, somewhere you can be. Does it mean to be saved by Christ? Inspired by Christ? Taught by Christ? In submission to Christ? Rory Shiner unpacks the real meaning of this theological idea of union with Christ in his book One Forever: The Transforming Power of Being In Christ.

    Union with Christ, being in Christ, is not impossible to grasp, nor is it impractical. It is substantial. And it is deeply liveable. Rory Shiner explains the meaning and practicality with vivid, simple, memorable illustrations that bring clarity to the concept, and he follows it up with Scriptural basis. He shows that the doctrine of union with Christ is precisely the doctrine Paul calls on when it comes to actually living the Christian life, overcoming sin, and growing in holiness. In Christ is the place where we can never ever be separated from the love of God, the place where we are justified before the Father.

    This straightforward book, less than 100 pages, will help the follower of Christ understand the full impact of being united with Christ and how transformational it can be when we grasp the concept. This book would be great for either individual reading or small group study, though no discussion guide is included.

    (Posted on 28/05/2013)

  10. An excellent primer on Union with Christ Review / Tip by Dave McDonald

    I’ve recently received two books on union with Christ. One Forever by Rory Shiner and Paul and Union with Christ by Con Campbell. I’ve been keen to get into both these books and decided to bring one with me on a plane trip this morning. Rory’s book is 88 pages and Con’s is 479 pages. If I was flying to South Africa with the Brumbies, I’d have taken Con’s book, but given I was only flying from Canberra to Sydney, Rory’s it was. Con said his book would have helped me sleep on the plane! Hopefully, I’ll let you know later if that’s true. This is a great introduction to an often overlooked theme in the Bible. This book shows us how central and significant it is. Union with Christ belongs not only at the heart of theology, but at the heart of Christian experience.

    Union with Christ is introduced against the backdrop of creation. We were created to be united with Christ. The picture of the man and woman being united in a one flesh relationship in Genesis 2 finds its ultimate expression in the union between Christ and his bride, the church, in Ephesians 5. We only become the people that God designed us to be as we are united together with Jesus. Fulfilment and completeness for human beings is experienced through entering into a genuine relationship with Jesus Christ.

    The incarnation, where God became one of us, shows us God’s true intentions for humanity. Given our rebellion against God, it’s truly remarkable that God would enter into our world as a human being.

    God doesn’t enter into humanity like a nuclear scientist holds radioactive material: with a massive suit on, at a distance, for fear of contamination. Rather, he enters into all that we are and is united to all that we are, so that all we can be healed and redeemed. (p28)

    The key to understanding the incarnation is the gospel. It reveals that God’s purpose in becoming fully human was to save people who’d turned their backs on him. Jesus, fully human, reveals the extent of God’s commitment to humanity and to restoring sinful people into relationship with God. The exalted post-resurrection Jesus shows us the picture of what God intends for humanity as we are reunited with our creator.

    The heart of this book is the chapter on being a new creation in Christ. Very fittingly, given the context of me reading this book, Rory asks us to consider being on a plane! He asks what relationship we need to have with the plane if we are going to get to the destination. Would it help to be under the plane, or inspired by the plane, or following the plane? No, we need to be in it! He argues that the New Testament idea of being in Christ is something like this. In biblical terms, we get to participate in the benefits of salvation and justification because we are united with, or in, Christ in his death and resurrection. This is the plane journey that matters.

    He develops the plane illustration further with some important pastoral implications. Contrast a business woman, well accustomed to flying, taking the journey in her stride, with an elderly man, an anxious first-time flyer, who keeps asking whether or not they’re going to make it. The woman clearly has stronger faith. The man is troubled by doubts and fears. But the plane gets both of them there! The heart of the matter is not how much faith you have, but where your faith is. (p41)

    Union with Christ isn’t simply one angle to understanding what we have received as Christians. Rather, it’s the means by which we receive every blessing from God. We are justified, declared to be in right standing with God, through being united with Christ. Christ has paid the price of judgment for our sin so that when we are united with him by faith there is no further price to be paid. This is the basis of our assurance of salvation. Understanding the implications of union with Christ enables us to live in humble confidence, that is, a confidence that in Christ everything from God will be ours and nothing can take this away from us. As Paul writes in Romans 8:

    38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39)

    Rory includes an excellent chapter on dealing with sin in our lives. He describes union with Christ as our defence against the playground bullies of sin and temptation. (p56) He takes us to Romans 6, arguably one of the most important chapters in the Bible for understanding the life implications of being united with Christ in his death and resurrection. Many people, Christians included, believe that guilt is the way to change people. Rory argues instead that guilt, while being a good alarm system that something needs to change, is a lousy agent for change. Guilt lacks power to transform lives. By contrast grace is God’s power to change as we gain a clearer and stronger appreciation of the many privileges we have in Christ. I found this chapter compelling and faithful to the thrust of the New Testament.

    One Forever reveals the implications of union with Christ for the church. There are many metaphors for church in the New Testament which reveal the corporate union between Christ and his people. Consider such pictures as the vine and the branches, the temple, the husband and his bride, the body of Christ, and so on. Christians belong to God and to each other. We are created and recreated, in diversity, with different gifts, for the purpose of sharing our profound unity in Christ. Rory asks: So why go to church? Answer: Because church is who you are. Church is the most concrete expression of your union with Christ. (p72) How we treat Christ and how we treat Christ’s people are intimately connected because the church is Christ’s own body.

    The final chapter of this book takes us to the big issues of life, death and the climax of all things. Understanding union with Christ gives us clarity about what to expect in our futures. It’s the basis of a real hope beyond death. Christ died and Christ rose. Our union with him in his death guarantees our union with him in his resurrection. We can be freed from the despair of living only to die, to devote ourselves to the things that will last for eternity – the work of the Lord (1 Corinthians 15:58). Our union with Christ will see us through, safe and glorified into the new creation. (p88)

    If you’ve never thought much about what it means to be in Christ this book is a great primer. It’ll help you to head back to the New Testament and read it with clearer glasses. Dip back into John 15, or Ephesians 1, or Romans 6, or 1 Corinthians 15, and see how important is this theme. It’s far more than a theological window with which to view our relationship with Christ. It reveals the very essence of what it means to be Christian.

    http://macarisms.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/one-forever/ (Posted on 12/03/2013)

10 Item(s) Show per page

Write Your Own Review / Tip

You're reviewing: One Forever: the transforming power of being in Christ

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

 

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Announcements

Resources for Pastors
Please consider making a donation towards our project of giving pastors in the developing world access to quality ministry resources. We'd love you to learn about and support our tax deductible GoThereFor Library Fund.

Compare Products

You have no items to compare.